Team of the Year Award Nominees

The Team of the Year Award celebrates the achievements of Britain’s successful collective efforts.


The 2023 nominees are;


England Cricket (Ashes team)

England secured a draw in the Ashes and inflicted Australia’s first one-day international series defeat since 2013. England’s 69-run win meant they drew the series, although Australia retained the Ashes due to the points-based and multi-format series.


Heroics from Nat Sciver-Brunt who scored two consecutive centuries and spinner Charlie Dean who took two wickets were particular highlights on the final day.


England Football’s Lionesses

England football captured the heart of the nation with their history-making FIFA Women’s World Cup campaign. They became the first England football team since 1966 to make it to a World Cup final and were the first England women’s team ever to do so.


A 1-0 loss in the final to Spain ended their unbeaten run and saw them leave Sydney with silver, but the impact of their achievements was felt across England and beyond. They inspired the nation this summer with their journey to the World Cup final not only as a team but as individuals.


England Netball

England netball made history as they reached the Netball World Cup final for the first time. Since the inception of the world championships in 1963, England’s best performance came in 1975 when they came second overall in a round-robin event in New Zealand.


Since the tournament changed into a knock-out format in 1991, 10 of the last 11 finals have been contested by the two top netball teams in the world: Australia and New Zealand – South Africa the last other side to reach a final in 1995.


England Rugby’s Red Roses

England rugby won a 16th Six Nations grand slam this April in front of a record-breaking crowd at Twickenham. They had yet another dominant Six Nations campaign, not losing a game, to set the stage for the deciding game against France, which they won 38-33.


Team GB Cycling Pursuit

Great Britain team pursuit squad won the world title for the first time since 2014 in August. The team of Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker, Josie Knight and Anna Morris clocked a time of 4 minutes, 8.771 seconds, winning by over four-and-a-half seconds against New Zealand.


The win is particularly poignant as Archibald lost her partner Rab Wardell, a fellow cyclist, earlier this year.


British Eventing

British eventing is a mixed sport, but the all-female British team dominated the field to take home the gold. The team of Ros Canter, Kitty King, Yasmin Ingham, and Laura Collett won gold at the European Championships at Haras du Pin in France.


The team finished with a 27-point lead after leading in all three disciplines of dressage, cross-country, and showjumping.


Their win was the 24th gold medal for the British team at the event and saw them take home more than double that of any other nation.


Have your say and vote now